• My past blog posts

  • Pages

  • Some of my online bookmarks at Delicious

I’m getting addicted to Twitter!

I am getting completely addicted to Twitter! (Find a wikipedia definition here).

Twitter is one of many new social networking services emerging on the Internet.  Social networking services are web pages and services that allow you to connect easily with people on the Internet in a variety of ways.  You may be familiar with sites such as Facebook, Myspace, Flickr.  They are all social networking services.

Twitter is a little different.  It’s basic premise is simple: publish very short messages about what you are doing in 140 characters or less.  It sounds incredible simple.  I have found it to be an incredibly powerful tool to network with educators and friends all over the planet!

Among other things, I’ve been able to start or participate in the beginnings of conversations about a whole range of topics, some of them educational in nature.  When we want to expand the conversation, participants will often move to other venues.  I’m comletely addicted. The conversations I’ve had in Twitter have given me incredibly fascinating ideas to try out in my classes.

I think one of its strengths is that it is so easy to use.  There’s no learning curve.  You set up an account, then you write a short message!

You can see some of my latest ‘tweets’ (those are the short messages we share with twitter) in the right hand side bar of this blog.  You can also visit my twitter account and see all that I have been discussing.

I highly recommend you at least try it out!

Many of the other blogs that I like to read on the net (you can see them in the ‘blogroll’ in the right hand side bar) include very good articles about twitter.  If you want to read about it before trying it out, go to those blogs (particularly Doug Peterson’s) and do a search for ‘twitter’.  They are more eloquent than me in touting praise for Twitter.

Leave a Reply

