• My past blog posts

  • Pages

  • Some of my online bookmarks at Delicious

So much to do, so little time!

In the last little while, through my Twitter contacts, I have been exposed to so many interesting and fascinating tools available on the web.  Many of these offer intriguing opportunities for applications in the classroom.

The problem is that there are so many out there, and so little time to explore them properly!  Spending time with Twitter alone eats up a lot of my time (but I feel it is time very well spent).

I’ve already started using some tools, such as Google Docs. (I know I said so in a previous post, but I will talk about how I use this tool now, and what I might do with it, in a later post, it’s such an excellent resource.)  It’s getting to the point that you almost don’t need to have the ‘typical’ software titles installed on your computer (such as a word processor, spreadsheet and presentation software).  You can do all of this now on-line, from any internet computer.

I guess I’m going to have to decide on focussing on just a few of these tools and go from there.  The challenging part will be deciding which tools to spend time with.

One that I was introduced to recently was through one of my on-line contacts, Phillip Cook (see his blog in my Blogroll).  He is a chemistry and physics teacher, and I’m already getting some good  chemistry ideas from him.  He is also a Web 2.o enthusiast.  One of the tools he has started using is called Prezi.  It’s an online presentation editor, with a very interesting twist.  This is from the ‘prezi’ home page:

*************

With the help of Prezi you can create maps of texts, images, videos, PDFs, drawings and present in a nonlinear way. Move beyond the slide, it only takes 5 minutes to learn how to use Prezi.

*************

Phillip has created a couple of presentations for his chemistry classes, check them out here and here.

I might try making a couple ‘prezis’ for my grade 12 chemistry class, and ask my students if they felt they were useful resources.  Some kids are visual learners, and the ‘prezi’ tool appears to be able to capitalize on this quite well.

Leave a Reply

