• My past blog posts

  • Pages

  • Some of my online bookmarks at Delicious

The power of Twitter for a teacher

I just had a “Twitter is Awesome” moment today.

I’ve spoken about it before, but now I have proof how well it works as a Professional Learning Network (PLN). (I use Twitter to primarily connect with other educators all over the world and have learned tons of ideas from them.)

As a chemistry teacher, I tried an outside demonstration of the Thermite Reaction.  The chemicals that were meant to initiate the reaction did not work.  I was able to improvise and get the initiation reaction to work in another way. However, I was completely surprised that the first set of chemicals did not work.

I posted this as a question on Twitter directed to one of my favourite chemistry contacts.  I received this reply within 10 minutes!

I think that Twitter is one of the most innovative and easy to use web 2.0 applications for teachers to develop their professional learning networks.  If you have ever thought about giving Twitter a try, I hope that this example will help convince you to invest a little time in setting up your PLN through Twitter.  I’m convinced you won’t be disappointed!

Leave a Reply

