• My past blog posts

  • Pages

  • Some of my online bookmarks at Delicious

A new teaching approach – Vodcasting

I saw a very interesting new video about a new teaching approach being used by some school.  It is called Vodcasting, which stands for Video on Demand Casting.  It really got me thinking about what I do in the classroom and how I can change some things up.  You can view the news video here.
Basically it involves a teacher recording a lecture-style lesson on video.  Often, it will include some interactive content to help supplement the lesson.  The students are then to watch the video as a homework assignment, taking notes as they usually would during a traditional lesson in the classroom.  (The teacher can then check their notes as a way of verify if they actually did the homework.)  The next in-class day will be spent on doing specific questions related to the new lesson.  The teacher is then free to move around the classroom, offering help and encouragement where necessary.
This approach turns the traditional ‘in-class lesson and take home questions’ upside down.  The teacher becomes more of a resource to the students.
I’ve presented this idea to some of my grade 12 chemistry students, and the reaction was what I expected: some thought the idea was innovative, while others did not like it at all.  Those that did not like this approach said that it prevents them from asking questions during a lesson to clarify points as they are presented.  Those that liked the approach said that it allows them to ask questions of the teacher while they are doing homework assignments in-class rather than at home.
I would like to try something like this with some of my lessons next year. Since I teach multiple sections of a chemistry class, I might even consider doing so with one section and using a more traditional approach with another section, then comparing results.
If you have any thoughts on this idea, or some experience with it, I’d love to hear from you.  Simply comment on this post, I would be most appreciative of your efforts!

One Response

  1. During the middle of this year I saw the Aaron Sams and Jonathan Bergmann video and gave it a try in my Biology classes. There were aspects of it that I loved: 1) providing my students a way to rewind my lectures and ensure they didn’t miss anything, 2) focusing on student understanding in class through one-on-one interactions, 3) self-paced instruction, and 4) more time in class for labs and activities. However, even though I offered multiple options for the students to watch their “homework,” getting them to watch the 10-20 minute video and take some notes proved even more challenging than typical homework. On most days, less than 50% of the students watch the videos. This made in class discussions and assignments more difficult – with many of the students trying to watch the videos during the class.

    But I certainly liked the “system.” I may try again with AP class – they are a little better with homework than my 9th graders.

Leave a Reply

