• My past blog posts

  • Pages

  • Some of my online bookmarks at Delicious

Going digital with my library card, and lightening my wallet in a good way!

I like the way my public library system is moving more and more into the digital age.  I recently blogged about how I borrow most of my books in digital format now. Recently, my county’s public library system has adopted an iOS app called CardStar, that allows for the saving of the bar code of my library card on my iPod, generating an image like this (it’s not my real library card number):

The librarian can then scan this instead of my library card.  I thought that was pretty neat.

Further examination of the app revealed that I can add bar code images for many more of my membership and loyalty cards that I normally carry around with me everyday in my wallet, such as Airmiles, Best Buy Reward zone, and many more.  Thanks to another digital innovation, my wallet is now lighter and smaller than it was (and I didn’t have to take any money out of it to do so!!).  Check it out!

Leave a Reply

